How do I contact OSHA?
To discuss a health and safety issue at work, contact OSHA toll-free at 1-800-321-6742 (OSHA) or by email, or contact your nearest OSHA office.
When Should OSHA be contacted?
All employers are required to notify OSHA when an employee is killed on the job or suffers a work-related hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye. A fatality must be reported within 8 hours. An in-patient hospitalization, amputation, or eye loss must be reported within 24 hours.
Where is OSHA headquarters located?
Washington, D.C. Occupational Safety and Health Administration/Headquarters
What is OSHA responsible for?
United States Occupational Safety and Health Administration/Jurisdiction
What is the toll free number for OSHA?
1-800-321-OSHA If you have any questions about the complaint filing or investigative processes, please do not hesitate to call 1-800-321-OSHA (6742) or contact your local OSHA office.
How long does it take OSHA to respond to a complaint?
within five days OSHA telephones the employer, describes the alleged hazards and then follows up with a fax or a letter. The employer must respond within five days, identifying in writing any problems found and noting corrective actions taken or planned. If the response is adequate, OSHA generally will not conduct an inspection.
What is OSHA email address?
InfoCons@dir.ca.gov Cal/OSHA Branches Email: InfoCons@dir.ca.gov. Phone: (800) 963-9424.
How do I contact OSHA NY?
File a Complaint
- Online – Use the Online Complaint Form.
- Fax/Mail/Email – Complete the OSHA Complaint Form [En Español], or Send a Letter Describing Your Complaint.
- Telephone – Call Your Local OSHA Office or 800-321-6742 (OSHA)
- In Person – Visit Your Local OSHA Office.
- Online – Use the Online Whistleblower Complaint Form.
Where is California’s main OSHA office located?
Oakland The Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) administers the California State Plan through Cal/OSHA. The main office is located in Oakland.
Who is not covered under OSHA?
Not Covered under the OSH Act The self-employed; Immediate family members of farm employers; and Workplace hazards regulated by another federal agency (for example, the Mine Safety and Health Administration, the Department of Energy, or the Coast Guard).
Who is exempt from OSHA standards?
OSHA exempt industries include businesses regulated by different federal statutes such as nuclear power and mining companies, domestic services employers, businesses that do not engage in interstate commerce, and farms that have only immediate family members as employees.
What PPE does OSHA require employers to pay for?
With few exceptions, OSHA requires employers to pay for personal protective equipment when it is used to comply with OSHA standards. These typically include: hard hats, gloves, goggles, safety shoes, safety glasses, welding helmets and goggles, face shields, chemical protective equipment and fall protection equipment.
Is there a reward for reporting OSHA violations?
Once the Investigation is Over If a case is solved in favor of the complainant, OSHA will do its best to reward that individual under their protection program. Whistleblowers are usually entitled to anywhere between 15-30% of proceeds from a suit.
Does OSHA approve individual states?
Section 18 of the OSH Act encourages states to develop and operate their own job safety and health programs and precludes state enforcement of OSHA standards unless the state has an OSHA-approved State Plan. OSHA approves and monitors all State Plans and provides as much as 50 percent of the funding for each program.
Does OSHA call?
The fake CoSHO will make threats and show agitation with such a request from an employer because a call to the OSHA Area Office will expose the scam. Tip: Never use a phone number a CoSHO (real or fake) provides as a number to call to confirm their identity –it could be a phone number to an accomplice scammer.
Can I be fired for filing an OSHA complaint?
Your employer is legally prohibited from firing you if you report an unsafe working condition to the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). If that happens, the employer will usually try to cloak the retaliation under some form of legitimate disciplinary action or a company restructuring.
How long does it take for OSHA to investigate?
Once you file a complaint, be ready for an inspection. For complaints that OSHA considers “serious,” the inspection should occur within thirty days. If it does not, call and ask about the delay.
How long does an employee have to file a complaint with OSHA when the employee has been discriminated against?
within 30 days If you have been punished or discriminated against for using your rights, you must file a complaint with OSHA within 30 days of the alleged reprisal for most complaints. No form is required, but you must call or file a letter with the OSHA Area Office nearest you within 30 days of the alleged discrimination.
What does the law say about who pays for PPE?
Who should pay for Personal Protective Equipment (s)? The law says: The cost of the PPE is treated as part of the operations cost of the employers. Take note that all PPE must be of appropriate size, weight, and type to specific workers exposed to hazards from which PPE are meant to ensure effective protection.
Can employers charge for PPE?
Can Employers charge for PPE? An employer cannot charge employees for their PPE, whether it is returnable or not. This includes agency workers, if they are legally regarded as employees.
What is the most common OSHA violation?
OSHA Reveals Top 10 Violations for Fiscal Year 2020
- Fall Protection – General Requirements (1926.501): 5,424 violations.
- Hazard Communication (1910.1200): 3,199.
- Respiratory Protection (1910.134): 2,649.
- Scaffolding (1926.451): 2,538.
- Ladders (1926.1053): 2,129.
- Lockout/Tagout (1910.147): 2,065.
How do I make an anonymous call to OSHA?
Call 1-800-321-OSHA (6742) or contact your local OSHA office.
Is OSHA 30 required in NY?
Any New York worker in need of training cards must take either the OSHA 10-hour training or the OSHA 30-hour training specific to the state of New York to fulfill their requirements. If you relocate while this training card is still active, this training is valid in any other US state.
Is New York an OSHA state?
New York. New York operates an OSHA-approved State Plan covering only state and local government workers. Private sector employers and their workers are covered by federal OSHA.
Does NY have OSHA?
New York State Plan Office OSHA maintains jurisdiction over all private sector workplaces; federal agencies; maritime employers (e.g., shipyards, marine terminals, and longshoring); military facilities; Indian sovereignty workplaces; and the United States Postal Service (USPS).